DOE Expands Free Meal Program to Eight Hawai`i Island Schools

This upcoming school year, the Hawai`i State Department of Education will expand a U.S. Department of Agriculture free meal program, called the Community Eligibility Provision, from 30 public schools to a total of 52 across the state.

The CEP program allows a school district, a group of schools or a single school to serve free meals to all students even if they do not qualify for free or reduced-priced lunch reimbursements.

“We are very pleased to be able to expand this program to 22 additional schools statewide to provide free meals for over 8,500 more students,” said Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.  “The program helped over 18,000 students to receive free meals over the past two years and provided significant relief for many families.”

Among the Hawai`i Island schools added to the program are Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary, Hilo Union Elementary, Honaunau Elementary, Hookena Elementary, Keaukaha Elementary, Ke Kula O Ehunuikaimalino, and Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Elementary & Intermediate, and Waimea Elementary.

To qualify for the CEP program, a district, grouping or school must have a minimum of 40 percent or more of its students eligible for free or reduced-price meals through the National School Lunch Program.

Currently HIDOE pays an average of $5.50 a meal (including food costs, labor, utilities, etc.). The USDA reimburses the state $3.89 for students who qualify for a free meal and $0.44 for those paying for a meal. HIDOE charges $2.50 for elementary school meals for a total of $2.94 in recouped cost for the state.

Under the program all students in the CEP school would qualify for the higher $3.89 reimbursement. While participating schools may no longer be collecting meal monies and ensuring accounts have sufficient funds, families will be required to provide information for data collection.

The 22 additional schools (including the Hawai`i Island schools listed above) being added to the program in school year 2017-18 are:

Aiea El.
Central Middle
Governor Sanford B. Dole Middle
Kaala El.
Kaewai El.
Kahaluu El.
Kaiulani El.
Kalihi El.
Kauluwela El.
Mayor Joseph J. Fern El.
Palolo El.
Puuhale El.
Waipahu El.
William P. Jarrett Middle

The 30 schools already participating in the program in school year 2016-17 are:

Hawai`i Island
Kau High & Pahala El.
Keaau El.
Keaau High
Keaau Middle
Keonepoko El.
Mountain View El.
Naalehu El.
Pahoa El.
Pahoa High

Kekaha El.

Blanche Pope El.
Leihoku El.
Linapuni El.
Maili El.
Makaha El.
Nanaikapono El.
Nanakuli El.
Nanakuli High & Intermediate
Olomana School
Waianae El.
Waianae High
Waianae Middle
Waimanalo El. & Intermediate

Hana High & El.

Kaunakakai El.
Kilohana El.
Maunaloa El.
Molokai Middle
Molokai High

Lanai High & El.

Tags: ,