Rep. Tulsi Gabbard Announces Hawaiʻi Students Nominated to Military Service Academies

Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02) today released the names and photos of her nominations to the U.S. Military Service Academies for classes entering Summer 2017.  After an exhaustive application and interview process, she nominated twenty-two students from across Hawaii’s Second Congressional District. Their applications are now being considered for final selection by the United States Military Academy at West Point, the United States Naval Academy, and the United States Air Force Academy.

“Across Hawaiʻi, high school seniors will soon begin gearing up for graduation, summer plans, and either beginning college, serving in our military, or entering the work force. A select few will be enrolling in one of the U.S. Military Service Academies, and I’ve had the privilege and great responsibility of nominating twenty-two phenomenal applicants to represent our Aloha State in service to our country.  I wish each of these nominees the very best in the final weeks of the selection process and in their promising futures,” said Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard.

The nomination application period opens May 15th of each year for candidates who are high school juniors and will be seniors the following school year, or who have already graduated. Nomination does not guarantee an appointment. The honor of attending a Military Service Academy comes with the obligation and commitment to serve in the military for a minimum of five years upon graduation. More information about the nominations process is available here.

The following students from Hawaii’s Second Congressional District were nominated by Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard to the corresponding military academy / academies below (photo available for download by clicking the nominee’s name).




Mr. Lawrence Barrett – Air Force Academy, Military Academy

Konawaena High School


Mr. Ragan Leslie – Naval Academy

Konawaena High School


Ms. Anh-Thu Pham – Naval Academy

Lake Braddock (Virginia)


Ms. Jennifer Serrano-Gervais – Military Academy, Naval Academy

Hilo High School




Mr. Kainalu Gandia – Military Academy

Kapa’a High School (Class of 2016)


Mr. Devon Hartsell – Military Academy

Waimea High School


Ms. Maia Alexis Young – Air Force Academy

Waimea High School (Class of 2016)




Mr. Trendon Delray – Air Force Academy

Maui High School


Mr. Caleb Soo Hoo – Air Force Academy

Baldwin High School


Mr. Harlie Stone – Air Force Academy, Military Academy, Naval Academy

Haleakala Waldorf




Ms. Keeanna Andres – Naval Academy

Kamehameha School


Mr. Nicholas Balabis – Military Academy, Naval Academy

Kalaheo High School


Ms. Cagla Brennan – Military Academy

ʻIolani High School


Mr. Anthony Corey – Military Academy

Kalaheo High School


Mr. Farrel Ekau – Air Force Academy

Kamehameha School


Mr. Cheyne Fergusson – Air Force Academy, Naval Academy

Waialua High School


Mr. Kainoa Gnos – Air Force Academy

Le Jardin Academy


Mr. Christopher Jenkins – Air Force Academy, Military Academy

Kamehameha School


Mr. Michael  Mossman – Naval Academy

Christian Education Institute (Class of 2016)


Mr. Sergei Scharer – Air Force Academy

Saint Louis High School (Class of 2016)


Mr. Peyton Sommer – Military Academy, Naval Academy

Punahou School


Ms. Fely Vacek – Naval Academy

Kapolei High School